Patrol Interview with Chris Stedman

Pt. 1 http://www.patrolmag.com/2012/11/06/cmeckbach/faitheist-chris-stedman-on-being-an-ex-evangelical-gay-interfaith-activist/

Pt. 2 http://www.patrolmag.com/2012/11/09/jonathan-d-fitzgerald/5208/

Fascinating interview. Compelling subject, compelling responses.

Some quotes:

The irony is that I had become a part of this community because I was looking for a way to make sense of suffering and because the communal aspect of Christianity was very appealing—but when I became increasingly serious about my quest to change my sexual orientation for them, I ended up retreating further and further into myself, and suffering more and more. Eventually I was just a zombie stumbling through my own life, completely unengaged with the world around me; focused solely on this one thing.

My atheism wasn’t born out of the negative experiences that I had had within the church, although I will admit that they sort of set me on a course of self-reflection that led me to the conclusion that God probably does not exist. As a college student, I was encouraged to turn a critical eye on my initial conversion experience. When I did, I realized I hadn’t really converted for the theology of the church, but for the community and the ethics and the positive social action. But I wonder if I would’ve had the opportunity to enter into that deep kind of reflection if I hadn’t had to question everything about who I was for a number of years. I don’t know. I actually think those kinds of hypotheticals are a bit silly. I am where I am now, and that’s what I know. But it’s important for me to say that I didn’t decide that I don’t believe in an anthropomorphized deity who is an interventionist force simply because Christians were mean to me. I feel that’s what a lot of people think about atheists—that they don’t believe in God because of negative experiences with religion.

About Paul VanderKlay

Husband, Father of 5, Pastor
This entry was posted in Daily Links and Notes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

